An Unexpected Guest

I started off my morning much like other mornings. Up around 8am. Enjoyed a coffee, read a little, wrote in my journal, and then headed into the basement for a jog on the treadmill.

I’m a huge believer in goal setting. And when my days are wide open like they are now, I find it even more important to make goals and meet them. One of my goals at the beginning of the summer was to take up jogging. I started a 5K running program through Running Mate (free iTunes download!) with the hopes of completing a “Fun Run” in September. Let’s face it – if it’s less than 10K, it’s a Fun Run.

Anyway, I was doing pretty well. It was Week 6 of training so this meant two 12 minute jogging intervals. I was 4 minutes into my second interval when my mom came downstairs and told me that a man was coming by to check the airflow in the basement. “I don’t want to stop!” I told her. “That means I’d have to start all over again!”

I was a little annoyed that my jog was going to be interrupted, which is precisely the reason I continued to run. Besides, I figured Airflow Man would be a sweet old grandpa, so I didn’t really care so much that I was sweating profusely, or that since all my workout gear was in the laundry I was outfitted in a spaghetti strap tank top exposing way too much undergarment, paired with old “saggy butt” jogging pants.  With cuffs around the ankles. Yeah.

A couple of minutes later Airflow Man enters the basement and gets to work. I see him out of the corner of my eye and that’s when I panic. “Shoot!” I scream inside my head, “Airflow Man looks an awful lot like Furnace Guy!”

Let me introduce you to Furnace Guy…

I met Furnace Guy Day 1 of my new life here. It was early on a Friday morning and I was getting ready to go out and pick up some coffee and water bottles for the movers. I emerged from the hallway and there he was, doing something manly involving the ducts in our fireplace. He looked up and smiled. Very cute! Then one of the movers walked inside and said something in French that neither of us understood. Furnace Guy and I shared a knowing chuckle and I was on my way.

I had totally forgotten about Furnace Guy until I was faced with him once again in very unflattering circumstances. For the next few minutes I was in denial, claiming that sweat was blurring my vision too much for me to actually be sure if that was him. He opened the basement patio door and stepped outside. For a split second I considered that this could be my out – the perfect time to escape gracefully and unseen and hopefully shower and make myself pretty before he left. But I still had 3 minutes left in my jog and I wasn’t willing to stop. Not yet. Not even for Furnace Guy.

My suspicions however, were confirmed the moment he walked by the window. The window that the treadmill is positioned directly in front of, so I can gaze outside at the pretty birds while I run. The window, where Furnace Guy stopped, turned, looked directly at me, and then kept walking. I decided to finish my jog right about then. Unfortunately I didn’t make it out of the shower before he left.

I do, however take solace in this: my mom warned him that I was in the basement before he went down there. “I hope she doesn’t bother you,” she said, “She’s training for a race.” Nice! Race sounds so much better than Fun Run! It sounds like I’m preparing for a half-marathon or, maybe even a full marathon! And it would better explain my bright red face and the sweat droplets falling off my nose and splashing onto the treadmill.

I guess I should have known that the common denominator in furnace and airflow is…ducts. Well now I know. And I’ve resolved to always put at least some effort into my appearance when I’m working out, because you never know who might drop by.

5 thoughts on “An Unexpected Guest

  1. I love this haha. One day, when you become “Mrs. Furnace Guy”, this will be funny to read.

    I’m glad you’re enjoying your summer :).

  2. Haha! Nat, I love it so much! You just kill me with your stories! Not to worry though, you are hot so I’m sure furnace guy will try to make excuses to come and see you :) It was so funny, I had to share it with my mom. You know, living with my parents :) She loved it too. She said you are a good writer and it sounded like it could be a short story. I told you actually are a writer, and she said that makes sense, because it’s very good writing. Keep it up!

  3. Pingback: That Ol’ Sentimental Feeling «

  4. Pingback: Say Goodbye to Furnace Guy «

Leave a Reply

