Conversations from the “Other Side”

I made it to the other side – and I’m still alive! The other side of 26, that is.

Last Monday, December 6, I celebrated my 27th birthday. Wow. I opened one of my birthday cards  a week early and when I saw, “Happy 27th Birthday” I almost fell over. I never thought I would get so old. Not that I’m that old. But when I was in high school I could never imagine being in university. And when I was in university I could never imagine being a graduate, and so on and so forth. Now I’m 27. Twenty-seven. Wow.

The scary thing about 27 is that it’s suspended between 25 and 30. When I was 26 I was still close enough to 25. But now that I’m 27 I feel like I can’t go back. Thirty is coming for me, and it’s probably coming fast!

Soon I’m going to have to change around the “About Me” section of my blog. “My name is Natalie, I’m 27, and I live with my parents.”

I'm not a little girl anymore!

Of course, this blog will have to go on a brief hiatus during my time in Thailand, but when I come home I’ll most likely be living with mom and dad again, and heck, might even be able to accomplish, “My name is Natalie, I’m 28, and I live with my parents.”

Alas, this birthday wouldn’t be complete without some quotations. Here we go again!

****

Back in the summer (during my unemployment funk) my mom and I were out for a drive. I was having a pity party, lamenting about how I thought I would never get a job, that no one wanted to hire me (blah blah blah blah), when Bruno Mars’ song “Just the Way You Are” came on the radio. My mom started singing along: “Natalie! Don’t you know you’re amazinnnnnnnnnng, just the way you areeeeeeee.”

She’s told me that (or sang it to me, rather) often during the past few months. And then on my birthday she told me this:

Mom: I was going to call the radio station and get them to dedicate that song to you for your birthday, but then I listened to the lyrics more closely. I didn’t think that part about “Her lips” was an appropriate message for a mother to send to her daughter.

(FYI, the lyrics are “Her lips, her lips, I could kiss them all day if she’d let me.”)

True! Though it didn’t stop Finn from singing that same song to Kurt during the recent Glee wedding episode…

****

Opening my birthday cards over coffee. I open a card from my parents.

Me: That’s such a nice card! Thanks guys.

Mom: It’s true. That’s why we got it for you.

Me: Awww…

Dad: This is a Hallmark moment.

****

My parents treat me to dinner at the Keg. I guess my dad thought it was necessary to gift his 27 year old unmarried daughter with some guy advice:

Me: You know, I should have flirted with that guy at the booth, (at an event I attended a week prior) even if I didn’t like him. Just for practice.

Dad: Natalie, if you want to talk to a guy, you just have to pretend he’s a tree.

Me: A tree?! [I laugh so hard that I blow out the candle in the centre of the table.]  Can you please explain your logic in pretending that a guy is a tree?

Dad: You can say anything! You can say something stupid, something good, something bad. It doesn’t matter. The tree won’t talk back.

Me: But that’s not the point. I want the guy to respond!

Dad: [Said matter-of-factly, as he takes a bite of his steak] Most guys won’t.

Mom: [Puts her utensils down and looks at me soberly] I’m married to a tree.

2 thoughts on “Conversations from the “Other Side”

  1. I love the photos! Wow, we were so young. Nice to see memories are still being made in our late 20’s… and most likely our 30’s and 40’s too! Also, I love your mom’s comment about being married to a tree.

Leave a Reply

