What If?

I love this.

It’s the “What If” Challenge.

“What If” is probably the most powerful question you could ask. Dreams, challenges, and possibilities are wrapped up in these two words.

What if you ran a marathon?

What if you quit your job?

What if you found your father?

What if you asked out that girl (or guy!)?

Here’s the challenge (taken from donmilleris.com):

  1. With a group of people, pass out some index cards and write five “What If” questions on them. Once everybody has written on their index cards, have each person in the group share one or two aloud. Then issue the challenge!
  2. Challenge the group to follow through on at least one item on the list. And they must follow through by the next time you meet, because they are each going to report on what happened.
  3. What will unfold, good or bad, will not be boredom. Things are going to get crazy. People are going to start talking, because their lives are suddenly going to get interesting.

Here’s the point:

We can’t wait around anymore for God to make something happen in our lives, meanwhile we shop at Bed Bath and Beyond. The truth is, God gives you wisdom and direction and morality and His presence and support, and then asks you to live, to conquer, to risk and experience the whole of life. People grow when they are in motion.

I tried to accomplish my “What If” today.

I failed.

I got really, really close, but I wimped out.

But I love this challenge, and maybe now I’m just one step closer to following through. At least I hope so!

2 thoughts on “What If?

    • Your pep talk was friggen awesome. Seriously, I saved it and read it to my friends last weekend. That said, I just waited to long. Didn’t seize the opportunity. Missed out on kairos, if you will (remember learning that from David Balzer?). Boo hoo kairos, I failed you! Oh well…Superwoman though, that’s nice. Thanks! And next time? Not sure if it’s in me!

Leave a Reply

