Once More for Mr. Miller

Don, Don, Don. You’ve done it again. You’ve captivated me with your words (and you know how much I love words). You’ve reminded me why I would marry you in a heartbeat. If you knew me, you would love me! Because to be known is to be loved…

Enough rhetoric. Let’s get down to business. I’ve not forgotten about Dose of Don these past three months. Not at all. You see, the reason that I haven’t been writing about living out a story is because I’ve actually been living out a story. And a good one, I believe. A really good one.

Nevertheless, Don’s recent blog post got me thinking…

In his article, “Is Your Life Confusing?” Don writes about how a study from the creators of Sesame Street suggest that children lost interest Big Bird, the Cookie Monster, and Bert & Ernie when they didn’t understand what was going on. Introducing a bit of conflict didn’t help re-gain their attention. Instead, the writers had to work hard to make sure that every bit of the story line was understood.

How does this relate to our own lives? This is the question that Don asks.

I posit that we all do the same thing, not with television, but in life. That is, we check out when we don’t understand what is going on. We distract ourselves. Or, worse, we ratchet up the conflict or numb ourselves with entertainment.

Let me ask you this: What if your own life was so engaging that entertainment seemed boring? I mean what if you were involved in projects that so captivated you that turning on the television would be a distraction from your real life? Can you imagine such a possibility?

The elements of a meaningful story are the same as the elements of a meaningful life:

1. A character.

2. That knows what they want.

3. And is willing to overcome conflict.

4. To get it.

Yes!

I’ve been so distracted from my “wants” lately. I get distracted very easily by very many things (namely, guys). And these distractions lead to confusion. And then I forget what I want. And then I think about throwing my wants out the window.

What a good reminder this article was about the things that I want. As I think about my wants, the main questions is this: Am I willing to overcome conflict? If I go back to school, am I willing to dish out all that cash at 27? Will it be risky? Yes. Will it be worth it? I hope so!

I was talking to my friend Shelly a few weeks ago about the main reason why we don’t pursue the things we want. And generally it’s because we don’t want to do the hard work that’s involved. We could get along just fine how we’re doing now, but is it really what we want? Going back to school (or anything else that you might desire) will mean a lot of hard work and sacrifice, but you have to weigh the cost and know what you want. Do you actually know? Or are you just living day to day, letting life call the shots.

I’ve never been the type of person who has a “plan.” Truthfully, I think I had this notion that having a plan meant you weren’t trusting God. And this can be true, I think, for those who plan out every stinkin’ detail of their lives, not allowing for any sorts of detours. But the other side of the coin is passivity, complacency, neglect.

I have a plan. Even though I love this country so very much, I’m leaving Bangkok mid-July. I’m going home. I have an awesome roommate lined up an awesome part of the city. And I’m applying to go back to school for a one year grad course in communications.

Am I allowing for some unexpected detours that might re-route my path? Totally! That’s half the fun! But right now, it feels good to know what I want and to go after it.

Thank you, Don!

Marry me?

Leave a Reply

