You Are Home To Me

“Are you serious about starting up a safe home in Ottawa?” my friend Rachel asked me during our Skype date Friday morning.

I sighed. “I don’t know. It’s more of a thought right now. I guess I just don’t know where I belong.”

“Oh,” she responded, “I can relate to that!”

I’m certain that most 20-somethings (and beyond!) can relate to that. It’s the decade of transitions. Heck, that’s what this blog is all about!

Home, Where Art Thou?

Last month I was celebrating my friend’s birthday with dinner at a Vietnamese restaurant at the mall. A couple of American guys started talking about how Bangkok felt like “home” to them. One said that although his family was preparing to go back to the States for a visit, it wasn’t as though they were going “home.” This is there home.

The other guy agreed. Though he’s been here less than a year, this city feels like home to him.

I listened to this conversation and wondered where my home was.  Throughout university and since graduating I’ve moved a lot. And last July when my parents moved, the place where I grew up ceased to be that familiar “home.” No matter where I’ve lived I’ve always had a sense that “home” was missing. “Home” was somewhere else.

Ironically enough I had been reading Brennan Manning’s The Ragamuffin Gospel that evening as I was waiting for the birthday girl to arrive and came across this passage that night before bed:

Jesus says simply, “Remain in me, as I in you” (John 15:4). Home is not a heavenly mansion in the afterlife but a safe place right in the midst of our anxious world. “Anyone who loves me will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we shall come to him and make a home in him” (John 14:23).

creator

Jesus says, You have a home. I am your home. Claim me as your home. You will find it to be the intimate place where I have found my home. It is right where you are, in your innermost being. In your heart (Manning 148).

As I continue to struggle with the question, “Where do I belong?” it’s comforting to know that amidst all of the places I may go in this lifetime, I already have a home.

In the words of former BUgirl Amanda Falk…

“From paper planes to foreign skies, you sustain my wings in flight, ‘cause with you home stays in sight.”

2 thoughts on “You Are Home To Me

Leave a Reply

