Growth

From Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller

On Belief:

Andrew would say that dying for something is easy because it is associated with glory. Living for something, Andrew would say, is the hard thing. Living for something extends beyond fashion, glory, or recognition. We live for what we believe, Andrew would say.

If Andrew the Protester is right, if I live what I believe, then I don’t believe very many noble things. My life testifies that the first thing I believe is that I am the most important person in the world. My life testifies to this because I care more about my food and shelter and happiness than about anybody else (Miller 112).

****

One of the greatest lessons I’ve learned since coming to Thailand has also been the simplest. And by simple, I don’t mean easy. I mean straightforward and uncomplicated. The most basic mandate that we are called to. Love.

IMG_2128Loving people has been hard. It has meant letting go of my agenda and my expectations of what I thought life would look like here. It has been a constant reminder of the grace I need for each day. It has been a plea that God would enlarge my heart, because my heart is selfish. It has been a process of learning to die to myself, remembering that death is the only way that a seed can grow into a plant.

Yes, for a self-centred, “independent” girl like me, loving has been challenging. But it’s also been one of the greatest rewards of being here.

Leave a Reply

