Conversations at The Gallery

I’ve mentioned before how much I love Thursdays nights. Akko Art Gallery is a safe place for me to share life with wonderful people.

Petula is the woman who opens her home up to the ladies from church week after week. A couple things I love about her: 1) She’s a “give it to you straight” kinda gal, and 2) she’s hilarious! I come from a funny family so I value a good sense of humour. If you make me laugh you are in my Book of Awesome People!

Here are a couple of  conversations from last Thursday that had me laughing:

Discussing the “next steps”

Me: You think that’s a bad excuse to not go home?

Petula: I didn’t say that. I said it wasn’t a good excuse.

Me: [Throw my hands in the air dramatically.] I don’t know where I belong!

Petula: Welcome to Bangkok! [Turns to I-Hsuan.] I-Hsuan, who are you?

I-Hsuan: [Looks up from her plate. Shrugs. Shakes head.] I don’t know.

Petula: [Turns to Michelle.] Michelle! What are you? Thai? American?

Michelle: I don’t know.

Me: So in other words, I’m right where I belong.

Petula: I don’t know about that. There are a lot of weirdos in Bangkok.

[Sidenote: I have a pretty good understanding of who I am as well as my gifts and skills, it’s more a question of where I live that out.]

****

Sharing our praises (things we’re thankful for) from the past week

I-Hsuan: Remember my birds?

Me: Yes.

I-Hsuan: They died.

Me: Oh.

Silence.

Petula: We don’t judge each other’s praises.

****

Looking forward to more laughing and sharing in the weeks to come!

Leave a Reply

