The Dream Project

A few weeks ago I went back to the Ruth Center with my friend Salman to help out for the day. The kids were at school but there was still plenty to do!

Salman and I got to work on preparing the materials for The Dream Project. The Dream Project exists to help the elderly in the slum community earn a living by selling bags and t-shirts. Basically volunteers cut out words such as “Hope” & “Love” from fabric and the ladies of the community do the sewing.

IMG_2385

I don’t think Salmon anticipated cutting out the word “Love” all morning, but he was a good sport!

Khun Noi took out us to lunch and in the afternoon we walked around the community to talk and pray with the elderly to encourage them. I really wished I could speak Thai! They proudly showed us some of their handiwork.

IMG_2426

IMG_2424

IMG_2427

Khun Noi was excited when I told her about my plans to go back to school in the fall to enhance my communications skills so I can work with a ministry and share what’s going on through different forms of media. She asked me if I could help her with her newsletters and even mentioned that they desperately needed English teachers, and they even had a guesthouse where I could stay for free…

Of course then I got pretty excited, but then I remembered that I’m trying to make more logical decisions with my life (I’m thankful for my rational friends who help instil that logic in me…) Big picture-wise I know that going back to school is a great idea! Plus…I really want to!

That’s all from the Ruth Center for now. I look forward to the day when I can return. In the meantime, they’re still looking for an English teacher. So if you or anyone you know is interested in teaching English to some super special kids in a slum community in Bangkok, let me know!

Leave a Reply

