Back to the Future

The thing that I don’t like about being “back” in Canada is the terminology.

Back.

“Welcome back!”

“You’re back home.”

“What are you going to do now that you’re back?”

I don’t like it because back refers to the past. Being back makes me think of going back in time instead of moving forward with life.

I have returned to my home country, but there is no way that I’m going back.

My challenge is dealing with the simplest things make me feel like I never left. They make me wonder if that 6 months of time cinched in between a world of familiarity really happened.

I’ll flick on the television and see a rerun of a show. Didn’t I just see this episode? And then I remember that I just saw it back in December.

Every time I open my closet door my mind goes back to November and the 30 minutes leading up to my interview with ECPAT. I sat in that closet with the doors closed and the lights off, fully aware that with this interview everything was about to change (dramatic, I know).

Everything did change when I went to Thailand. I have six month’s worth of incredible memories and experiences to show for it. But at present I am in Canada, standing in front of my closet door, and I wonder what that change is supposed to look like here.

Pre-Bangkok was a necessary season of preparation and character-building. Bangkok gave me the chance to live that out on the mountain top and gain vision for the future. And here in post-Bangkok is where the real test of character comes into play as I learn to walk it out in trust.

So with that said, the only thing I’m going back to is the future.

“Welcome forward, Natalie!”

One thought on “Back to the Future

Leave a Reply

