It’s TOTALLY You!

You know the infamous break-up line, “It’s not you; it’s me” ? My friend Gladys and I were discussing this yesterday as it relates to the job market, and how job rejection is a lot similar to hearing that line, cuz let’s face it – when someone says, “It’s not you; it’s me” what they’re really saying is, “It’s TOTALLY you!”

Gladys and I met at our retail jobs and quickly bonded over our frustration in finding work in our respective fields. We get together usually once a week to exchange resources and encourage one another. After a few meetings with Gladys I have to say that she would make one heck of an employment counselor! I always feel a lot more confident in my experience and abilities and more determined to “stick it out” here in Ottawa after chatting with Gladys.

Unfortunately for me, Gladys has decided to head back to Alberta by December unless things change for her in the next few weeks. She was telling me about her “It’s TOTALLY you” job rejection from a couple weeks back and how that hit her hard, especially since she thought the interview went well.

I got my own “It’s TOTALLY you” job rejection in the form of an email recently. It was pretty blunt. I didn’t even have an interview but based on my resume they thought I deserved to have my pride wounded.

It went something like this:

Dear Natalie:

Thank you for applying at ___________. After reviewing your resume we have decided to proceed with several other candidates who are much more qualified than you.

As I started reading the letter I found myself thinking, well hey, at least they let me know! Not many organizations even acknowledge that they’ve received your application. That is, of course, until I got to the word several. And then much. And then more. And then qualified.

Gosh, these people must really think there’s something wrong with me if they felt such a strong need to point out my deficiencies.

See if I ever apply for a job with you again.

It’s ok. I seem to remember myself asking for more rejection about this time last year. To quote my own words of wisdom (haha), “If a door is slammed in my face, then so be it! I’ll just suck it up and keep on knocking.”

Oh, and by the way, let’s just be honest here.

It’s not me; it’s you.

One thought on “It’s TOTALLY You!

Leave a Reply

