On the 95

Last week I was riding the bus home from work in the evening. I’ve had a job in retail the past few months, and though I adore my coworkers and I genuinely enjoy going to work, I need to earn some more money. I’ve been believing that with a new year comes a new job.

I was less than 10 minutes from home when a man in his late 50s approached me. He sat in the row of seats ahead of me.

“Hi ma’am.”

Oh dang, this old man is going to hit on me, I think. Sad, yes, that this was my first reaction.

He continues, “Are you a student at the University of Ottawa?”

“No.”

“Are you a student?”

“No.”

“What line of work are you in?”

“Why are you asking me these questions?” I respond, with a bit of a chuckle and genuine curiosity. We’re on a half-filled bus so I’m not worried about my safety.

He ignores me. “Do you know what your gifts are?”

“I have lots of gifts,” I say with a smile.

“Do you know where your gifts come from?” He asks.

“Yep! They come from God.”

He smiles. “So you’re a Christian?”

“Yes.”

“I thought so when I saw you. My name is Gary.”

“I’m Natalie.”

“Natalie, is there anything I can pray for you for?”

I’m about to respond no, but it doesn’t take me long to remember that I need an increase in my income, and I think to myself if this guy claims he could tell I am a Christian, why  not let him ask God for a job for me.

“Sure. I need a job.”

He takes my hand (which isn’t as creepy as it sounds) and starts praying for me.

When he finishes he gets up and walks back to his seat. “I’ve prayed for people to get jobs before,” he says. “I’ve spoken it out, and it’s happened. People are approached for jobs they didn’t even apply to. Watch out for that job. It’s coming!”

As I hopped off the bus that night I was encouraged. Really hoping there will be a follow up post to this one. Now wouldn’t that be a great story!

3 thoughts on “On the 95

  1. How strange and very cool, people don’t usually do that kind of thing. I’ve only heard those types of stories about “other people” and I’ve wondered if they’re just stories to make Christians feel good. I love that you were approached and had that conversation with him. I’ll pray for your job hunt too :)

  2. My friend Ty prays for strangers on the bus too and he has some incredible stories that have come from those moments!:) And knowing Ty beyond that, as a person and his relationship with Chris, makes me like this sweet man on your bus. Completely believe that job will happen!

Leave a Reply

