Back in the Habit

I’ve decided that I should start blogging again but I’m not really sure about what.

When I started this blog I was 26, jobless, had little direction and a lot of confusion regarding my future. To top it off, I was living with my parents (duh).

I like to think I’ve evolved a little. I mean, I’m 28 now, I have 2 jobs*, I know what I’d like to do with my life** (becoming a wife simplified that) and thank God my husband and I aren’t living in my parents’ basement.

When I started this blog I was stuck. “Every wall is a door” (Ralph Waldo Emerson) was my mantra. Learning to have joy was my goal.  A lot of what I’ve written throughout Chapters 1-3 was characterized by learning ever-so-sloooowly to become unstuck, which is why livingwithmyparents seemed to fit, even after moving out. Now? I’m not so sure. I still need those life lessons, of course, but I don’t want to think of myself as stuck. I’m not. I’m free!

But until I figure it out, I’ll keep writing here. Heck, maybe I’ll never stop.

Perhaps I can write about all those new and exciting things I’m learning everyday about my spouse. Like the “concentration face” he makes when he’s washing his hair (so endearing!) or his stages of falling asleep.

Stage 1: breathing becomes heavy. Stage 2: teeth begin to chatter (so weird!). Stage 3: a large twitch, which usually results in me getting a chest thump. And Stage 4: snoring. That’s when I put in the ear plugs and roll over.

Joking aside, I love going to sleep with Simon and waking up with him. We’ve only been married for 2 weeks but so far my best friend and I have become even tighter. He’s the greatest:)

That’s all.

*In addition to working at the map store I’m also on a writing contract with the government. I get to work from home baby! Speaking of babies…(no not yet!) this ties in with **what I want to do with my life: once the babies come I’d like to be a stay at home mom, but also earn an income by writing from home. My hope is that this opportunity will lead to many more!

3 thoughts on “Back in the Habit

  1. Glad to see you back at it Natalie! Having just started a blog ourselves I can appreciate the commitment it takes! Looking forward to hearing about all your married life adventures.

    • Hey Cassy, thanks for the comment! I know it’s a month later…but I was checking out your blog yesterday. Awesome stuff! I’m also a fan of Young House Love so I very much appreciate your endeavours:)

Leave a Reply

